The Singing Reed

Lucy Reed

The Singing Reed
  • CAT # OJCCD-1777-2

    1. The Inch Worm 2:50
    2. My Love Is A Wanderer 2:48
    3. Because We're Kids 2:46
    4. It's All Right With Me 3:48
    5. There's A Boat Dat's Leavin' 2:28
    6. It's A Lazy Afternoon 3:37
    7. Flying Down To Rio 2:12
    8. Little Girl Blue 6:16
    9. Fools Fall In Love 3:20
    10. Out Of This World 4:48
    11. You May Not Love Me 3:41
    12. My Time Of Day 2:33
    13. No Moon At All 2:15
    14. Tabby The Cat 1:52
    15. Baltimore Oriole 3:49
    16. That's How I Love The Blues 3:44

Lucy Reed was a mainstay on the Chicago jazz scene when this album was released in the Fifties. Her sensitive ballad interpretations might be forgotten now, were it not for the support they receive from Bill Evans, who was appearing on only his third album (and his first outside an orchestral context). The touch, phrasing, and voicings that would become so influential are already in place, their originality underscored by comparison with the tunes cut with Reed's regular accompanists. (Evans also appears on the four bonus tracks added for this CD reissue.)

with Bill Evans, Howard Collins, Bob Carter, Sol Gubin, Dick Marx, Johnny Frigo

Find out more about Lucy Reed


Discriminating listeners tended to become admirers of Lucy Reed from the moment they first heard her intelligent, unaffected, pitch-perfect… More