The Soul Of A Bell

William Bell

The Soul Of A Bell
  • CAT # SCD-8607-25

    1. Everybody Loves A Winner 2:49
    2. You Don't Miss Your Water 2:59
    3. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man 3:10
    4. I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now) 5:33
    5. Nothing Takes The Place Of You 5:29
    6. Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye 3:36
    7. Eloise (Hang On In There) 2:43
    8. Any Other Way 2:44
    9. It's Happening All Over 2:33
    10. Never Like This Before 2:44
    11. You're Such A Sweet Thang 2:25
    12. You Don't Miss Your Water (Alternate Version) 2:59
    13. Any Other Way (Alternarte Version) 2:44

With its distinctive combination of black gospel and white country elements, William Bell's 1961 hit "You Don't Miss Your Water" signaled the stylistic direction that Stax Records, in particular, and Southern soul music, in general, would take for the remainder of the decade. The soul crooner scored one more hit, 1962's "Any Other Way," before the Army took him off the scene for two years. He returned to recording in strong form following his discharge and continued charting, with "Never Like This Before" and "Everybody Loves a Winner," both included on this, his first album. Because "You Don't Miss Your Water" and "Any Other Way" had been recorded in mono, Bell decided to cut new stereo versions while working on this 1967 set. Both feature fidelity far superior to the original recordings and are in many ways finer musically than the versions first issued on 45.

Everybody Loves a Winner, You Don't Miss Your Water; Do Right Woman, Do Right Man; I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now), Nothing Takes the Place of You, Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye, Eloise (Hang On in There), Any Other Way, It's Happening All Over, Never Like This Before, You're Such a Sweet Thang , You Don't Miss Your Water (alternate version), Any Other Way (alternate version)

with Steve Cropper, Donald "Duck" Dunn, Isaac Hayes, Al Jackson, Jr., Booker T. Jones, the Memphis Horns

Recorded between 1966 and 1967.

Find out more about William Bell


This 24-bit remastered disc is a career-spanning collection of 20 greatest hits including “You Don’t Miss Your Water,”… More
William Bell was the first male vocalist ever signed to Stax Records and helped set the stylistic direction Otis Redding and others took at the… More
William Bell, as critic Clive Anderson observed, “preceded [Otis Redding] as one of the first and best exponents of the soul singer’s… More
She Won't Be Like You, All That I Am, Let's Do Something Together, Forever Wouldn't Be Too Long, You Got Me Where You Want Me (slow version)… More
I Forgot to Be Your Lover, Private Number (with Judy Clay), Born Under a Bad Sign, My Kind of Girl, Lonely Soldier, Save Us, A Penny for Your… More
Singer-songwriter William Bell was the first male vocalist to have a hit on Stax Records--1961's "You Don't Miss Your Water"--and he… More