The Timekeepers
  • CAT # OJCCD-790-25

    1. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You) 3:45
    2. Soft Winds 5:40
    3. Rent Party 9:24
    4. Indiana 4:33
    5. Hey, Raymond 5:28
    6. After You've Gone 2:38
    7. That's The One 5:10

It could be argued that no two pianists could be more unalike than Count Basie, the master of understatement, and Oscar Peterson, the avatar of speed, power, and embellishment. The contrast in their approaches is part of what made their collaborations riveting. But the fact is that Basie, who held great power in reserve, could let it rip (and stride) when the mood struck him. And Peterson is capable of judiciously applying all that horsepower to achieve the most delicate effects. Both kinds of role reversals occur here. As the album title indicates, the great common denominator between the two is the observance and interpretation of time, not only in the sense of overall swing but of placement of notes and phrases. Their unaccompanied duet in the first choruses of "Rent Party" provides an emphatic demonstration.

I'm Confessin' (That I Love You), Soft Winds, Rent Party, Indiana; Hey, Raymond; After You've Gone, That's the One

with Louis Bellson, John Heard

Find out more about Count Basie & Oscar Peterson


Oscar Peterson and his six-piece combo are all business on Peterson's 1995 Christmas recording, extolling the virtues of Peterson's intelligent… More


Blues for Roy, Teach Me Tonight, Joe Turner, Blues for C.T.; Yessir, That's My Baby; Tea for Two, After You've Gone, Poor Butterfly More
The styles of Count Basie and Oscar Peterson would seem to represent the extremes of jazz piano, Peterson's the embodiment of technique, Basie's… More
In this 1977 followup to Pablo's enormously successful 1974 Satch and Josh, the majority of the material is again the blues. Basie and… More
If Art Tatum and Fats Waller had teamed up in a recording session, the results would undoubtedly have been something like this. Whether Waller… More