The Tony Bennett / Bill Evans Album

Tony Bennett & Bill Evans

The Tony Bennett Bill Evans Album
  • CAT # OJCCD-439-2

    1. Young And Foolish 3:50
    2. The Touch Of Your Lips 3:54
    3. Some Other Time 4:42
    4. When In Rome 2:53
    5. We'll Be Together Again 4:39
    6. My Foolish Heart 4:51
    7. Waltz For Debby 4:04
    8. But Beautiful 3:37
    9. Days Of Wine And Roses 2:23

Bill Evans rarely accompanied singers. He didn't consider it one of his accomplishments. An expert on accompanists, Tony Bennett's flawless ear told him that Evans's sensitivity, touch, and deep harmonic wisdom would make him a perfect collaborator. In such circumstances, with no orchestra for cover and no rhythm section for buoyancy, a singer's control, intonation, and steadiness are in bold relief. None of Bennett's recordings discloses more clearly his mastery of those elements. Evans, whose singing piano lines were inevitably described as lyrical, illuminates Bennett's supreme interpretation of lyrics. His own solos "sing" beautifully.

Find out more about Tony Bennett & Bill Evans


Limited 180gm vinyl LP pressing of this 1961 release including one bonus track. Explorations, recorded on February 2, 1961, was Bill Evans fourth… More


Fantasy Records presents a sublime 2-CD collection that spotlights the iconic song stylist dueting with the legendary jazz pianist from their two… More
The concept couldn’t have been simpler, nor could it have been more perfect: Just Tony Bennett and Bill Evans, Together Again, in the wee… More
This collection, a triumph in the careers of both Tony Bennett and Bill Evans, was made at a time when these masters each seemed in relative… More