Thelonious Himself [Deluxe Japanese Import Edition]

Thelonious Monk

Thelonious Himself Deluxe Japanese Import Edition
  • CAT # UCCO-9214

    1. April In Paris 3:54
    2. (I Don't Stand) A Ghost Of A Chance With You 4:21
    3. Functional 9:20
    4. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You 4:06
    5. I Should Care 3:13
    6. 'Round Midnight 21:57
    7. 'Round Midnight 6:41
    8. All Alone 4:50
    9. Monk's Mood 7:52

A limited-supply CD import from Japan in a high-quality paper sleeve; the perfect collector’s item.

Thelonious Monk's fourth album for Riverside stands between two of his most celebrated group recordings, following Brilliant Corners (now OJCCD-026-2) and preceding Monk's Music (OJCCD-084-2), but in itself it is of notable importance for several reasons. This was Monk's first recorded work in the watershed year of 1957, in which he broke though to major recognition. It was his first (almost) entirely solo album. And it includes at least two performances of lasting significance the unaccompanied version of his classic “’Round Midnight,” and the one exception to the album's solo format.“Monk’s Mood,” on which he is joined by Wilbur Ware and—for the very first time—John Coltrane.

with John Coltrane and Wilbur Ware (on "Monk's Mood" only)

Find out more about Thelonious Monk


Pianist Thelonious Monk's appearance with a tentet at a 1959 Town Hall concert was a major success. With Hal Overton contributing arrangements of… More


Concord Music Group is launching five new titles in its Very Best Of jazz series, which showcases some of the very best tracks culled from the… More
Among the other aspects of his genius, Thelonious Monk was a brilliant solo pianist, as he proved on two classic unaccompanied recitals for… More
The Definitive Thelonious Monk Prestige and Riverside Recordings. More
Today Thelonious Monk stands as an individual, a highly original musician who is the mentor of many young musicians in New York and the influence… More
Orrin Keepnews' commentary (from his new liner notes): "This, you might say, is an album of undiluted Monk." More
VINYL EDITION! When Monk and Trane spent six months of 1957 working together at New York's Five Spot Cafe, it was an historic event which… More
Orrin Keepnews' commentary (from the new liner notes): “This album was actually one of the major factors in the successful battle to win new… More
The quartet has always seemed to be Thelonious’s favorite musical format—it is the context he has worked in most often during his long… More
This previously unreleased live album features Thelonious Monk on piano, Charlie Rose groovin' the alto sax, Steve Swallow, playin' bass, and Ben… More
Remastered in 24-bit from the original master tapes. Part of our Keepnews Collection, which spotlights classic albums originally produced by the… More
Ironically, in 1964, the year that Riverside 's doors closed, Thelonious Monk appeared on the cover of Time magazine. By then, he was… More
Monk's Music is among the most significant of Thelonious's classic Riverside albums. Here he was literally looking back and ahead at the same… More