Things Are Getting Better

Cannonball Adderley & Milt Jackson

Things Are Getting Better
  • CAT # RCD-1128-2

    1. Blues Oriental 5:04
    2. Things Are Getting Better 7:14
    3. Serves Me Right 4:49
    4. Groovin' High 5:19
    5. Sidewalks Of New York 6:57
    6. Sounds For Sid 6:20
    7. Just One Of Those Things 6:45
    8. Serves Me Right (Take 4) 4:42
    9. Sidewalks Of New York (Take 4) 6:57

Blues is certainly the foundation on both of these recordings, as can be heard immediately on Things Are Getting Better. Bags’ “Blues Oriental” is a 5-minute blues with colors suggested by its name. Jackson is first up and delivers a short and sweet lesson in the elegance and eloquence of the form. And what a rhythm section - with the tasteful and swinging Wynton Kelly (with whom Cannonball Adderley was to play in the Miles Davis Prestige group), MJQ bassist Percy Heath and the ubiquitous Art Blakey who could brighten any session. Cannonball and Bags, though both strong and individual leaders, never step on each other’s toes. And as a bonus, Orrin Keepnews (producer of the original LP and subsequent re-issues) has included several alternate takes. ~ By Donald Elfman,

Find out more about Cannonball Adderley & Milt Jackson


An exceedingly excellent live date from the legendary Village Vanguard, In New York captures the recording debut of the Adderley Sextet and finds… More


Concord Music Group released five new titles in its Original Jazz Classics Remasters series. Enhanced by 24-bit remastering by Joe Tarantino… More
At its best, the loose-limbed "blowing" date must be recognized as an important element in the jazz pattern. This album is a… More
Special offer for beautifully packaged Japan import while supplies last. More