Triple Play

Joe Williams

Triple Play 83461
  • Release Date: 01 Feb 1999
  • Label: TELARC
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # 83461-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. Sometimes I'm Happy 2:44
    2. Hurry On Down 3:39
    3. Sugar 4:43
    4. Summertime 3:30
    5. Lover Come Back To Me 4:08
    6. A Little At A Time 4:50
    7. There Will Never Be Another You 2:11
    8. Jimmy's Blues 3:50
    9. Honeysuckle Rose 2:42
    10. My Baby Upsets Me 4:18
    11. The Comeback 5:35
    12. Georgia Rose 3:25
    13. Roll'em Pete 3:15
    14. I'd Rather Drink Muddy Water 4:10
    15. One O'Clock Jump 1:14
    DISC TWO  
    1. Here's To Life 5:35
    2. What A Wonderful World 4:50
    3. When I Fall In Love 4:15
    4. I Found A Million Dollar Baby 4:12
    5. If I Had You 4:52
    6. Maybe September 4:06
    7. Save That Time 3:59
    8. Young And Foolish 4:47
    9. I Didn't Know About You 5:14
    10. Little Sir Echo 4:30
    11. Someone You've Loved 4:57
    12. A Time For Love 4:04
    13. Here's To Life 3:43
    1. In the Beginning / My Lord 5:42
    2. Feel the Spirit 5:09
    3. Go Down Moses / Wade in the Water 4:47
    4. Great Camp Meeting 3:45
    5. Were You There? 5:11
    6. Walk with Me 4:17
    7. I Couldn't Hear Nobody Pray 4:14
    8. In My Heart 3:55
    9. Little David 3:10
    10. His Eye is on the Sparrow 5:12
    11. Pass It On 4:24
    12. The Lord's Prayer 3:31
    13. Doxology

Master jazz vocalist Joe Williams achieved popular and critical success over several decades. He is a prolific recording artist, appearing on television and in movies, and performing with his own groups, with symphony orchestras, and with jazz greats. On Triple Play: Joe Williams, a set of three complete CDs, listeners will enjoy Joe Williams with the Count Basie Orchestra, Here's to Life, and Feel the Spirit.

Joe Williams with the Count Basie Orchestra was recorded live at Orchestra Hall in Detroit in November 1992. It highlights the classic ballad and blues artistry of Joe Williams and the eternal swing of the world's most celebrated big band. The chemistry is as evident today as it was over thirty years ago when these great and vital jazz artists first recorded together.

OnHere's to Life, Williams offers twelve beautiful love ballads arranged by the great Robert Farnon and recorded in a London studio for a salute to a zestful living that is full of promise. The recording is a dream-come-true for both participants and is laced with reminiscent moods and uplifted with lightly swinging melodies.

Presenting yet another side of his musical talents onFeel the Spirit , Williams sings thirteen traditional African-American hymns beautifully arranged by Johnny Pate. Williams pays homage to his Chicago roots and the gospel quartet that was his primary musical influence. In settings that range from duos with pianist Jerry Peters to chorus-backed sextets with singer Marlena Shaw and the instrumentalists, Williams sings a wide range of contemporized spirituals, ballads and up-tempo tunes colored with funk, rhythm and blues, and down-home themes.

Find out more about Joe Williams


On his third Telarc Jazz recording and his first-ever album of spirituals, vocalist Joe Williams has chosen to show yet another side of his… More
Shared admiration and shared projects marked the friendship of Joe Williams (1918-1999) and Cannonball Adderley, and Joe Williams Live… More