Trouble Blues

Curtis Jones

Trouble Blues
  • CAT # OBCCD-515-25

    1. Lonesome Bedroom Blues 3:23
    2. A Whole Lot Of Talk For You 2:58
    3. Suicide Blues 4:06
    4. Please Say Yes 2:35
    5. Weekend Blues 3:29
    6. Good Woman Blues 2:41
    7. Trouble Blues 5:02
    8. Love Season Blues 3:55
    9. Low Down Worried Blues 3:04
    10. Good Time Special 2:08
    11. Fool Blues 2:54
    12. Pinetop Boogie 2:54

Texas-born bluesman Curtis Jones, who enjoyed a spell of success in the late Thirties with his classic "Lonesome Bedroom Blues," was a nearly forgotten figure when he walked into Rudy Van Gelder's studio on November 9, 1960 to wax the first album of his long career. Trouble Blues led to recordings for other labels and a nine-year residency in Europe, which ended with his death in Munich in 1971. Jones was a highly emotive vocalist who sang in a nasal style reminiscent of his contemporary Walter Davis and later blues star Jimmy McCracklin; and he used minimal piano both to accompany and play in unison with his vocals. Making a rare appearance as a guitarist on the Prestige/Bluesville session was Chicago pianist Johnny "Big Moose" Walker, whose tasty guitar approach was much like that of Lowell Fulson.

with Johnny "Moose John" Walker, Robert Banks, Leonard Gaskin, Belton Evans

Find out more about Curtis Jones