Turned To Blue

Nancy Wilson

Turned To Blue
  • CAT # MCGJ1022-25

    1. This Is All I Ask 5:56
    2. Take Love Easy 4:29
    3. Turned To Blue 4:01
    4. Knitting Class 3:52
    5. Be My Love 3:54
    6. Taking A Chance On Love 3:17
    7. Just Once 4:21
    8. These Golden Years 6:10
    9. I Don't Remember Ever Growing Up 5:16
    10. Old Folks 5:22
    11. I'll Be Seeing You 5:18

Turned To Blue is a classic representation of Nancy Wilson showcasing the full spectrum of experiences that come with a five decade career in entertainment. The legendary songstress delivers a story through ballads as only she can, premieres unparalleled treatments of new songs and swings with a big band harking back to her days with Cannonball Adderley and the Billy May Orchestra. There is something for everyone on Turned To Blue.

Released on August 22, 2006, on the MCG Jazz label, this collection of songs tells a story that portrays our basic nature to love so deeply, despite the inevitable human struggle with love’s power. Wilson illustrates the many expressions of love, ranging from powerful lost love to hopeful yearning for new love, as depicted through new arrangements of the 1940s classics “Be My Love,” “I’ll Be Seeing You” and “This Is All I Ask.” The hard driving, swinging big band songs – “Take Love Easy,” “Taking A Chance On Love,” and “Old Folks” – reflect the lighter side of love.

Coming on the heels of her GRAMMY-winning 2005 release, R.S.V.P. (Rare Songs, Very Personal), in the category of Best Jazz Vocal Album, Turned To Blue enjoyed similar success in December 2006 with a GRAMMY nomination of its own in the same category.

The title track, “Turned To Blue,” is a musical version of “My Life Has Turned To Blue,” a poem by Dr. Maya Angelou, former Poet Laureate for the United States. “As a singer who chooses to sing only those songs that speak to me, that resonate with my life and feelings, it is pure joy to be able to sing the words of my long time friend, Maya Angelou,” Wilson says. This song is one of four new compositions included on Turned To Blue. Another simple yet powerful song is “I Don’t Remember Ever Growing Up,” written by Artie Butler. (Other Butler credits include “Here’s To Life” that was a hit for both Shirley Horn and Joe Williams.) The educationally tongue-in-cheek “Knitting Class” and reflective “These Golden Years” round out the new songs.

Turned To Blue has at least one featured soloist on every track. There are five tenor saxophone solos by five of today’s top players: James Moody, Tom Scott, Andy Snitzer, Jimmy Heath and Bob Mintzer. Wilson refers to these musicians as her “Tenor Men.” Other soloists include flutist Hubert Laws, trumpeter Sean Jones, and bassist John Clayton. Tropical sounds are provided by vibraphonist Dave Samuels and steel pan master Andy Narell. Finally, there are two very special pianists: Wilson’s long-time musical director, Llew Matthews, and fellow Jazz Master and dear friend, Dr. Billy Taylor. (“I’ll Be Seeing You” marks the first time Wilson and Taylor have ever recorded together.)

This project marks the third collaboration between Wilson and MCG Jazz. Wilson’s only complete Christmas album, A Nancy Wilson Christmas (MCGJ 1008) was the fifth best selling jazz album of 2001, reaching #4 on Billboard’s jazz chart. R.S.V.P. (Rare Songs, Very Personal) (MCGJ 1013), released in August 2004, won Wilson the 2005 GRAMMY® Award for Best Jazz Vocal Album.

Find out more about Nancy Wilson


With all that Nancy Wilson has given to the world of music, she is giving one more gift, R.S.V.P. (Rare Songs, Very Personal) (MCG Jazz, MCGJ… More
There’s something about the holidays that remind us all that we’re connected to a community that extends beyond our immediate circle… More