Ultimate Isaac Hayes: Can You Dig It?

Isaac Hayes

Ultimate Isaac Hayes Can You Dig It
  • CAT # 3SCD-88043-25

    DISC ONE  
    1. Theme From "Shaft" 3:15
    2. Precious, Precious 2:44
    3. Hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedalymistic 9:36
    4. Ain't That Loving You (For More Reasons Than One) 4:22
    5. Never Can Say Goodbye 3:36
    6. By The Time I Get To Phoenix 6:58
    7. Soulsville 3:47
    8. Wonderful 3:37
    9. Help Me Love 5:21
    10. Need To Belong To Someone 5:15
    11. Good Love 6-9-9-6-9 5:15
    12. The Look Of Love 3:20
    13. Do Your Thing 3:19
    14. For The Good Times 5:20
    15. I Stand Accused 11:37
    DISC TWO  
    1. Walk On By 12:02
    2. Joy (Part 1) 4:41
    3. His Eye Is On The Sparrow 4:20
    4. Brand New Me 8:36
    5. If Loving You Is Wrong (i Don’t Want To Be Right) 4:45
    6. Someone Made You For Me 4:05
    7. Baby I'm-A Want You 4:42
    8. Let's Stay Together (Instrumental) 3:35
    9. Theme From "The Men" (Instrumental) 4:00
    10. I Can’t Help It (If I’m Still In Love With You) 4:22
    11. Title Theme "Three Tough Guys" 2:32
    12. Run Faye Run 2:45
    13. Chocolate Chip 3:46
    14. Come Live With Me 3:30
    15. Disco Connection 3:38
    16. Rock Me Easy Baby (Pt. 1) 3:31
    17. By The Time I Get To Phoenix/ I Say A Little Prayer 4:35

Isaac Hayes' 1969 solo debut Hot Buttered Soul set a soulful tone for the decade that followed, influencing innumerable artists and turning on a more conventional audience to the genre. Therefore it comes as no surprise that three quarters of that record are included on this compilation from his 1968-‘77 Stax Records resume (though they are heavily edited to fit the 32-song, two-CD format). Renowned as one of his generation's greatest songwriters and arrangers, Hayes punctuates his creations with hints of r&b, funk, jazz and soul. Examples here include the indelible "Theme From Shaft," a funked-up cover of Burt Bacharach's and Hal David's "The Look of Love," the slow-grooving "Do Your Thing" and a previously unreleased gospel standard, "His Eye Is on the Sparrow." The inspired packaging includes a four-track DVD that features a trio of Hayes' performances from the 1972 WATTSTAX Festival at the Los Angeles Coliseum--providing as much evidence of the magnitude of Hayes' esteem as this starter set for anyone seeking an introduction to a legendary artist. --Scott Holter

Find out more about Isaac Hayes


This double LP, released on Stax Records' Enterprise label in 1971, was the follow-up to Hayes' successful soundtrack for Shaft. Black Moses… More
Of the many wonderful blaxpoitation soundtracks to emerge during the early '70s, Shaft certainly deserves mention as not only one of the most… More
ne of the best-available Isaac Hayes compilations, Greatest Hit Singles bypasses a couple of his later disco hits, but the result is a more… More
Hot Buttered SoulFour-song long-player ushered in the era of album-oriented soul with hits "By the Time I Get to… More
2009 installment in the popular For Lovers series featuring romantic performances from one of the music world's most iconic performers.. More
Stax Reissues Isaac Hayes' Shaft In Deluxe Edition. Digitally Remastered With Bonus material And Extensive Liner Notes. More
Isaac Hayes' legendary Hot Buttered Soul album reissued on Stax with two bonus tracks and digital remastering. More
Stax reissues Hayes' 1976 album, "Juicy Fruit (Disco Freak" on CD for the first time. More
Stax Records Reissues Isaac Hayes' "Black Moses" album on CD in Deluxe Edition with extensive liner notes. More
Isaac Hayes's first album, Presenting Isaac Hayes, was a low-budget, jazz-imbued affair recorded on the spur of the moment with only bass and… More
This 24-bit remastered disc is a career-spanning collection of 18 greatest hits including “Theme from Shaft,” “Walk On… More
If some cynics chimed that Hot Buttered Soul had been a fluke, Isaac Hayes easily repeated the success of that 1969 breakthrough for symphonic… More