Winter Nights

Al Di Meola

Winter Nights
  • Release Date: 01 Sep 1999
  • Label: TELARC
  • Genre: JAZZ
  • CAT # 83458-25

    1. Zima 4:08
    2. Carol of the Bells 4:12
    3. Winterlude Duet No. 1 1:28
    4. Greensleeves 2:46
    5. Mercy Street 4:55
    6. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas 4:34
    7. Winterlude No. 2
    8. Midwinter Nights 4:51
    9. Scarborough Fair 4:37
    10. Winterlude No. 3
    11. The First Noel 3:15
    12. Inverno 5:39
    13. First Snow 2:44
    14. Winterlude No. 4 1:32
    15. Ave Maria 4:54

Elegant, melodic, and beautifully crafted, Winter Nights finds guitar hero Al Di Meola in stunning holiday form. Di Meola’s first-ever seasonal recording features fifteen tracks, with original compositions like “First Snow Lullaby,” alongside touching renditions of traditional carols and contemporary standards.

It’s Al Di Meola’s singular style of speed and precision, his ability to reconcile energy with sensitivity, that allows him to make just about any song his own—even Peter Gabriel’s “Mercy Street” and Paul Simon’s “Scarborough Fair.” Taking chestnuts like “The First Noël” and “What Child Is This?” and making them sound fresh is no mean feat, but Di Meola pulls it off with aplomb. Another gift is his ability to conjure images so vivid, you need only close your eyes to see faraway landscapes (“Ukraine Winter Song”). Di Meola’s renditions of “Carol of the Bells” and J.S. Bach’s “Ave Maria” are floating and ethereal. His goose bump-giving version of “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” is equally evocative, with lush acoustic guitars layered like warm blankets.

Always eager to explore music from other cultures, Di Meola’s lineup on Winter Nights includes percussionist and guitarist Hernan Romero along with the extraordinary Roman Hrynkiv on bandura, a Ukrainian folk instrument with an enchanting sound and texture.

Although Di Meola remains a proficient player and a tremendous technician, he continues to explore music with youthful enthusiasm. The guitar legend was barely 20 years old when he replaced Bill Conners in Chick Corea’s popular and influential Return to Forever. He broke new ground in 1977 with Elegant Gypsy, and his later work with the Guitar Trio in the early ‘80s was pure genius. Di Meola is a true trailblazer whose music reflects his diverse experience in jazz, rock, world, classical, and flamenco. Indeed, his earlier efforts have inspired many of today’s purveyors of “nouveau flamenco” such as the Gypsy Kings, Ottmar Leibert, and others.

Di Meola’s bestselling 1998 Telarc debut, The Infinite Desire (CD-83433), spent over thirty weeks on the Billboard Contemporary Jazz Chart.

Find out more about Al Di Meola


Guitar Great Al Di Meola To Release New Works With His World Sinfonia Band. More
On Consequence of Chaos, the legendary guitar hero and composer Al Di Meola delivers a searing, high caliber recording brimming with… More
On Flesh on Flesh, Al Di Meola pushes the musical envelope in both directions: exploring new avenues of cross-cultural expression while… More
On his latest release, guitarist extraordinaire Al Di Meola explores melody and rhythmic diversity with the help of his acoustic group, World… More
This brilliant guitarist makes his Telarc debut, and his first electric recording in over five years-- The Infinite Desire. He is joined on… More