• CAT # OJCCD-1892-25

    1. The Sermon 3:41
    2. How About You 2:26
    3. Figure 8 3:38
    4. Patti-Cake 2:38
    5. With The Wind And The Rain In Your 4:00
    6. The Way You Look Tonight 8:23
    7. Have You Met Miss Jones? 3:05
    8. Four 4:01
    9. Night Life 2:37
    10. The Night We Called It A Day 2:41
    11. Blues For Susie 3:33
    12. Seaside 2:29

Long before his fame in the 1980s and '90s as the composer of scores for Clint Eastwood's films, Lennie Niehaus built a considerable reputation on his own. He was a featured alto saxophone soloist in two stints with Stan Kenton's big band and much admired in jazz circles for his arranging for medium-sized groups. Niehaus's series of recordings for the Contemporary label in the 1950s attracted some of the most important artists in the West Coast movement. Bill Perkins, Jack Montrose, Frank Rosolino, Lou Levy, Pepper Adams, Bob Gordon, Shelly Manne, Red Mitchell, and others welcomed the opportunity to play Niehaus's interesting music at the intersection of the big band and combo disciplines. In Zounds!, Niehaus gives unique treatments to five standards, five of his compositions, and pieces by Hampton Hawes and Miles Davis.

with Jack Montrose, Bob Gordon, Stu Williamson, Bob Enevoldsen, Lou Levy, Monty Budwig, Shelly Manne, Bill Perkins, Pepper Adams, Vincent De Rosa, Frank Rosolino, James McAllister, Red Mitchell, Mel Lewis

Find out more about The Lennie Niehaus Octet


In the mid-1950s, Lennie Niehaus avoided cliché, incorporated audacious harmonic ideas, and distilled the essentials of big band writing… More