Grant-Lee Phillips

  • CAT # 01143-1066-2

    1. Wave of Mutilation 3:36
    2. Age of Consent 3:34
    3. The Eternal 5:15
    4. I Often Dream Of Trains 3:20
    5. The Killing Moon 4:14
    6. Love My Way 4:33
    7. Under The Milky Way 4:29
    8. City Of Refuge 3:36
    9. So. Central Rain 3:24
    10. Boys Don't Cry 3:46
    11. Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me 4:07

Click here to purchase this album on

Grant-Lee Phillips is one of the most gifted songwriters of his generation, having written and recorded critically lauded albums as both a solo artist during this decade and with his band Grant Lee Buffalo throughout the 1990s. On his new album, 'nineteeneighties,' Grant-Lee pays tribute to the songwriters and artists who had a significant influence on his own work. Of those formative years, Grant-Lee says, 'For every hokey hair band, there was once an alternative, parallel universe, existing just below the conservative, pastel surface. It was the same unstoppable energy that would come to erupt in the form of Nirvana in the early 90s. 'nineteeneighties' is a nod to some of the songs and some of the people that made a lasting impact on my own songwriting and musicianship.'

'nineteeneighties' is a creative tribute to what was truly 'alternative' during the formative 1980s and exhumes an age whose underground music has long outlasted the more popular songs of its airwaves. 'This album is my personal mix tape, just as it's reeled around in my head for decades,' states Grant-Lee.

'nineteeneighties' includes Grant-Lee Phillips' stunning re-workings of: Wave of Mutilation [originally performed by The Pixies] Age of Consent [New Order] The Eternal [Joy Division] I Often Dream of Trains [Robyn Hitchcock] The Killing Moon [Echo and the Bunnymen] Love My Way [Psychedelic Furs] Under the Milky Way [The Church] City of Refuge [Nick Cave] So. Central Rain (Sorry) [REM] Boys Don't Cry [The Cure] Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me [The Smiths]

Find out more about Grant-Lee Phillips


Click here to purchase this album on Amazon.comGrant-Lee Phillips calls Strangelet 'an album for strange times.' We call it a… More